Diversity

(I never know how to title these…)

This is the first time I have ever attended a school that is not Catholic. When looking at college I specifically said that I did not want to go to a Catholic university because I was tired of Catholic school. Sometimes I love that High Point isn’t affiliated with the Catholic Church, but other times I feel lost, alone, and I miss the community of my former schools.

 

Within the close group of friends I have made here, I am the only Catholic. I love my faith and practice it, but I have never been one to outwardly express it to or push it on others. In the beginning of the year I think I just assumed everyone else was Catholic too because I was raised in a bubble where everyone was. So it came up in conversation, and I realized that my friends weren’t. That didn’t bother me at all. I really don’t get why people do have problems with people who have different faith. I believe my thing and act according and you believe another and act respectively to it, but as long as it doesn’t harm me in any way I don’t care. My friends thought it did. About a week later one of them pulled be aside and said these words: “You know, we don’t care that your Catholic, right? It doesn’t change what we think of you, and we don’t judge you for it. There’s nothing wrong with you being Catholic.”

 

I appreciated her reaching out to me, but sometimes when I think about it, I’m a little offended. Why should me being Catholic have anything to do with what you think of me? That’s what I really don’t get. When my friends told me they were either raised Catholic and hate it so they don’t consider themselves Catholic, or that they just don’t practice whatever religion they were raised, it didn’t even for a split second cause me to judge them or think of them differently.

I just don’t understand why people make such a big deal out of diversity in faith. Does that happen with other things too? Like if someone is a Republican and it comes up in conversation that their friend is a Democrat, do they immediately see them in a different light?
Does it happen with all religions? Or just Catholicism because it has a reputation for being strict and corrupt?

Maybe spending the first 18 years of my life in a community of Catholics sheltered me from the real world. Maybe it’s normal for people to look at you differently because of your faith… But that doesn’t make sense to me. 

Leave a Reply

